Winner of the first national AIPP Contemporary Photographic Art Prize, Jeff Moorfoot


We were proud to announce the winner Jeff Moorfoot, for his series “ Three Blind Mice”. Jeff has been developing this work in his Lyonville (Victoria) studio. His artist statement is:

"Three blind mice
Three blind mice
See how they run
See how they run
They all ran after the farmer's wife
She cut off their tails with a carving knife
Have you ever seen such a sight in your life
As three blind mice

My arts practice has long been focussed upon subjects that have well since passed their use by date and have entered an advanced state of decay. I seek to reveal the beauty within that comes courtesy of the process of deterioration. 
It comes as a response to my many years as an advertising photographer, where there is an almost obsessive necessity to capture a subject that represents flawlessness and desirability. 

My 'heroes' are drawn from my collection of mummified rodents,  selected  for their roles by the expressive body forms of their mummified shapes, and they take their place on a stage supported by a cast of ephemera and the detritus of my surroundings.

And although they may give the appearance of otherwise, these tableaux  have forgone the camera, and instead are made with a  flatbed scanner in  a process that contemporises one of the very early  image making processes, the photogram."

The finalists Shannon Cotterill  for her series “My mother earth” and Sue Michael for her series "Genius Loci of the Mid North of South Australia.”

The prize was chaired by former SA AIPP President Paul Atkins and AIPP National Awards Team member Mark Zed. Judging took place on Sunday the 4th at Hardy's Tintara at part of 4th Shimmer Photographic Biennale in the City of Onkaparinga.

The exhibition was opened 5pm on the 4th by Vittorio Natoli, the AIPP National President.

The judges were:
Gavin Blake:
Emma Hack:
Greg Akland:
Hilary Hann:
Vittorio Natoli, AIPP National President: