AIPP Contemporary Photographic Art Prize launches this Sunday


As part of the 2016 Shimmer Photographic Biennale, the AIPP are running their first national exhibition of the Contemporary Photographic Art Prize. The event is in response to demand to see work that typically does not fit into the “APPA system” where an image has to stand alone to be judged. The CPA is about judges reviewing a body of work with an artists’ statement supporting it.

The call out for entries was made earlier this year, and over forty submitted work. From this 40, 10 were chosen for this event.

Over the weekend of September 3rd and 4th, the exhibition will be hung and judged at the Shimmer Photographic Biennale in McLaren Vale, South Australia.

The ten exhibitors are:
Kelly Barker
Shannon Cotterill
Steven Ducnan
Mark Fitz-Gerald
Gee Greenslade
Sue Michael
Jeff Moorfoot
Lisa Saad
Steve Scalone
Jennifere Thompson

The Contemporary Photographic Artist of the Year will be announced at the Exhibition launch, September 4th at 5pm, and will run through out September as part of the Shimmer festival.

Hardy’s Tintara
202 Main Road McLaren Vale, SA
8329 4124

September 4th - October 2nd
Open 7 days, 10am-4.30pm
Exhibition launch, 5pm September 4th 2016

Paul AtkinsComment